1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows Encrypted files?

Discussion in 'Software' started by led_zeppelinzoso, 6 Jan 2017.

1. led_zeppelinzoso

led_zeppelinzoso What's a Dremel?

Hello everyone

I havn't used this site since I was a teenager but have ran into a problem recently and need help.

Problem - Some of my files are showing up with green font and it's telling me they are encrypted and I can't open or copy them. I've never used encryption, never encrypted any of my files, I have no idea how this happened.

I've been running this computer for 8 years and been using the same license of windows 7 for the last 5. I format and reimage the computer one a year and when I did this earlier today I come to find many of my files like this, WTF is going on???

I've been researching it for hours and tried changing the file owner, tried deselecting the encryption option but it tells me I don't have the permission to do this. I'm really stuck here, these are After Effects files I need for work and my own computer is locking me out of using them...

They were created on this computer, never shared with another computer, I've never used encryption, I don't even have a password on my user account. What is going on???

Thanks

2. theshadow2001

theshadow2001 [DELETE] means [DELETE]

Sounds like you have a ransomware virus. It will slowly encrypt your files and then force you to pay a ransom to decrypt them.

First thing I would do is backup anything important that is not currently encrypted. It's probably best to do this without running your OS. Perhaps using a Linux live image. Alternatively you might be able to put it in a safe mode level that would allow you to run the OS without the encryption program running. But I don't know how or if that would work.

Naturally running the OS with this kind of malware will allow it to further encrypt your files. So avoid doing that if possible.

3. David