1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Other New home cabling

Discussion in 'General' started by Awoken, 25 Jul 2017.

1. Awoken

Awoken Gazing at the stars

We're putting in an offer on a new place and I want to get cables run out of sight from the office, on one side of the house to a couple of other rooms. We're replacing the carpets downstairs with laminate and I need the cables to run from the utility room to the kitchen, the office and into the lounge on the other side of the house (we run plex throughout the house. I might even run one to the upstairs hallway just in case our Asus A68U wifi doesn't reach - its a bigger house than we're currently in).

As a student I just ran cable along skirting boards and used a little white trunking to cover it up but now that we're getting our own place (finally moving out of rental accommodation) I want to get it tucked away and with proper faceplates rather than loose RJ45s.

What's the best way to run cable in a relatively new build and where do I start my search if I want to get someone to do it for me (including making right afterwards)?

Is Cat 6 worth it when most TVs/set top boxes are 10/100?

2. Zoon

Zoon Hunting Wabbits since the 80s

CAT6 shielded is worth it if you ever plan to use HDMI over CAT as you'll only only get full quality over longer distances with shielded.

You might be best to pay a sparky to poke the wires through the walls because it'll be a load of effort otherwise to make it neat.

If you keep your cables to the outside walls you might be able to weave them through the dots and dabs plus the ceilings downstairs are largely hollow with a reasonable gap you should be able to run through. For upstairs you can poke cables down from the loft too.

3. yuusou

yuusou Multimodder