1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Electronics Home made PCBs?

Discussion in 'Modding' started by Kalym, 22 Oct 2003.

1. Kalym

Kalym What's a Dremel?

I'm new to electronics was thinking about creating my own PCBs firstly because I can't be bothered to wire all the connections to a circuit, and secondly I can put components closer together thereby saving space.

TBH, I've only got about 3 - 4 circuits that I want to make, at the moment, but even the simple one has lots of connections between IC's and components. With a home made PCB I only have to drill holes and solder parts (I think.).

A few questions I would like to know:

- Is it dangerous to use the chemicals for the etching?
    - Are PCBs made this way reliable?
    - Is it worth the hassle?

2. Hazer

Hazer In time,you too will be relixalated

Since your new to electronics, I would avoid this way for now.

The best way to do things is to wire up the circuit on a breadboard. Test it out first.

3. Kalym

Kalym What's a Dremel?

Assuming that I've already used a bread board to test my circuit. Assume that I've wired up the circuit on a strip board. Further assume that I now want to to create one board with 6 versions of the same circuit on. (Look here incase you are curious.)

The idea of doing all that soldering and wire stripping puts me off.

4. Smilodon

Smilodon The Antagonist

1: depends... drinking it isn't a cure for something, if you know what I mean, spilling it at things might stain.. and it can damage you'r skin if you get this stuff on you'r hands over longer periods.. if you get it on you, just wash it off... some might react on it more than others, but i hvare put my hands in that stuff many times and i'm still alive...

2: defeneatly more realible than breadboards if made correctly..