1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Other Computer locking up

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by silk186, 21 Jul 2018.

1. silk186

silk186 Derp

The computer in my sig:
    i5 2500k @ 4.3 GHz w/ hyper 212+
    GA-Z68-UD3H-B3
    MSI 280x 3GB
    Corsair Vengeance LP 2x8GB

I have been running this very stable for many years. Recently I put a fresh install of win10 on and today it locked up three times. The first time while playing 'Ni no Kuni II Revenant Kingdom'. The computer felt very warm so I opened it up and it had a think layer of dust behind the fan on my heatsink. Pulled it off and gave it a proper cleaning.

Last night I was playing NieR - Automata and it ran smoothly. It was not running Ni no Kuni very smoothly today, it felt a bit laggy. When it locked up I had to hold the power button and it took many tries to get it to boot into windows. I played A Hat in Time for a little while and it locked up again with white horizontal lines on the screen. It took many tries to get it to boot into windows. I reinstalled the AMD drivers.

Boot repair didn't find fix anything, sfc/scannow and DISM /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth
    I've also run windows defender, Malwarebytes and spy bot.

I think my previous overclock was at 4.2. this was reverted by the bios. 4.0 failed, 3.8 held but again it locked with a white screen while watching a video in youtube.

Any ideas on how to identify the problem?
    Could it be software or most likely hardware?

I not planning on building a new computer until I finished my PhD and had started working (6 months to a year). My wife has just replaced her MacBook air (mid-2013) so funds are kind of tight as we are both finishing our PhDs and have a two-year-old. How much I'm I looking at to get a decent CPU/MB/Memory that will be a least a bit of an upgrade on here, £300?

2. RedFlames

RedFlames ...is not a Belgian football team