1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Case Mod - In Progress ⭐ My first time : Project Orange

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by Mike Shep TTW, 31 Aug 2018.

?

If orange wasn't your colour, what would you pick?

1. Red

1 vote(s)
    50.0%
  2. Blue

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Green

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Yellow

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. Purple

1 vote(s)
    50.0%
  6. Pink

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  7. Grey

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  8. White

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Mike Shep TTW

Mike Shep TTW What's a Dremel?

Hi & Welcome.

Quick intro, I'm new here. My name is Michael this is my first build log, case mod & watercooling venture. May seem small to you guys but this is just the beginning for me.

So the idea of this case mod is just something i missed from the core p3 by thermaltake, after using it for a few months with an overclocked haswell; It missed airflow.

So the plan was to orientate a 360 radiator or 420 on a 90 degree to direct airflow to motherboard, Graphics card, VRM heatsink & chipset etc.

The main goal for this project is to give me confidence towards my future goal, to say I can mod & I can watercool, what better case to use than an open air P3.

Part picking was easy, as the parts will be used in a rebuild of the same system once i moddify the case. (it was started but then put on hold).

I wont spoil anything but there will be a clue in this build. :p

So i knew i needed a MATX motherboard, i Decided on the z370 by asus the Gaming G wifi model.

16gb of ram, which had to match a Grey theme, i went for the team group Vulcan.

Graphics card i already had was the Asus GTX 1070. (big bump from my 960 2gb).

Power supply i was spoiled for choice, as i am no stranger to custom cables, making for clients, friends and SI's.

Decided on the shortest one i had, with adequate wattage, the Corsair AX760.

Then drop in the 8700k.

So lets have a quick look at the layout i had in mind.