1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The thinking process behind designing a desk pc?

Discussion in 'Modding' started by ifohancroft, 11 Oct 2018.

1. ifohancroft

ifohancroft Minimodder

Hello, Everyone!

Even though I have posted a couple of times in other people's threads, this is my first thread on here and I want to say how much I love this place and how happy I am to be here.

I have checked the forums, looked for rules, etc and I think I am posting the right way in the right place but I'd like to apologize in advance if I am not.

I am currently in the process of designing myself a desk pc that will probably get built in the future (like after a couple of years) but I like always working on something so I started designing right when I got the idea.

My problem is that it is my first time doing this and while I know my requirements and what I'd like, often some stuff clash (for example, you want an audio jack at a specific place but at the same time there needs to be a radiator) or you find a layout that works but you don't like how everything looks. My current process of designing it and deciding what to go there is all over the place, which led me to thinking my thought process/the way approach the whole thing is maybe wrong. Therefore, I think it would be of a great benefit to me if I hear your answers on the following questions:

1. What is your thought process in the early design stages? As in from 'I wanna build a desk pc' to 'this is how it would look and this is what it would have and this is where each thing is going'.
    2. How do you decide what you are going to compromise on? For example when you need two things at the same physical space or let's say you want to have a radiator in-front middle of the desk but at the same time you needed it to be thinner so your legs can fit?