1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Planning Make your own o-rings

Discussion in 'Modding' started by LePhuronn, 11 Feb 2019.

1. LePhuronn

LePhuronn Minimodder

Hey.

I've gotten so excited about designing and making my custom DDC pump top I totally forgot about the o-rings.

I presume Nitrile is what we use in watercooling kits, but how do you make them? Adhesives, how to cut, how to bond, etc.

Educate a noob here, look forward to your responses.

Cheers.

2. Cheapskate

Cheapskate Insane? or just stupid?

I prefer silicone cord stock, since I always have silicone glue handy to bond it with. I think it would work with rubber seals with what we use it for.
    Here's the Imperial selection. I have zero resources on metric, which is probably more available over there. You will need a google search for metric O-ring channel dimensions once you find your material. There should be a datasheet from a metric manufacturer out there.

3. cobalt6700

cobalt6700 Minimodder

My personal advise would be to go to somewhere like simplybearings and find an o-ring to fit. It's always better to use a manufactured o-ring.

You may want to use something like ERIKS o-ring calculator to work out what size groove/o-ring you need (you don't want to over or under compress an o-ring)

Kits are great for getting you out of a sticky situation. Making your own can be a pain. Some o-ring kits come with a little cutting guide, the idea being that you cut each end at an angle to ensure you have a large surface area for gluing. Most kits come with a 'o-ring' glue, which is basically just CA.

If you have a steady hand, sharp blade, some CA and a good eye for cutting angles, you can do it freehand. I've made o-rings like that out of 1.5mm dia nitrite.

BA_13 and Big Elf like this.
  4. BA_13

BA_13 Minimodder