1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Other Application for job

Discussion in 'General' started by Jake123456, 31 May 2019.

1. Jake123456

Jake123456 Surprise!

Hey guys,

Just need some advice..I've been working at my current job for 9 years and have only ever done one 2 applications which was for this role.

I'm just applying for another job and it asks for my reasons for wanting to leave my position.

I've just stuck this down ' No room for progression within current role ' is this sufficient enough or should I expand on that?

Thanks all :D

2. liratheal

liratheal Sharing is Caring

IIRC the trick is to say basically that without seeming to dump on your current employers.

3. blackerthanblack

blackerthanblack Minimodder

I'd certainly amend/add to that. I'd put something like 'limited' development opportunities, or 'opportunities' do not align with your own expectations. It may seem small, but you avoid slating your old work in front of potential new employers.
    Is this you first employment? If so you could add that you want to broaden you experience, 9 years is a decent time with an employer these days, depending on industry.

4. Goatee

Goatee Multimodder

I had a candidate respond with something like the below when asked a similar question by my HR colleague for a warehouse operator role:

"I'm looking to move to get new experiences, see different ways of working and encounter new challenges."

We ended up hiring the person, despite them not having the related industry experience (GMP Pharmaceutical).

Another candidate responded with "I hate my boss". We didn't hire them. :wallbash:

5. bawjaws

bawjaws Multimodder