1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Planning My very first ATX crimp

Discussion in 'Modding' started by LePhuronn, 10 Dec 2019.

1. LePhuronn

LePhuronn Minimodder

I don't suppose one of you lovely people could spot check my very first ATX crimp?

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

It looks fine to me, but what do I know? :grin:

2. Impatience

Impatience Minimodder

Close contact held in the heat shrink and copper cabling, looks good to me!

3. Big Elf

Big Elf Oh no! Not another f----ing elf!

Which Crimp Tool are you using?

The insulation crimp looks to have bitten down too deep into the insulation and the conductor crimp doesn't look to have formed fully around the wire. However if the crimp doesn't pull off it'll work.

4. IanW

IanW Grumpy Old Git

I've been doing this sort of thing for almost 30 years in my day job. That there is a first-rate looking crimp.

5. Dr. Coin

Dr. Coin Multimodder

Looks better than most I make. Big Elfs comments are spot one but I have I found the more critical detail is to ensure that the pin wasn't bent during the crimping. I found it happens when something shifts during the crimp the a pin is not properly aligned with the crimper. When this happens I can usually remove the pin with a gentle tug.

6. Big Elf

Although it's a personal thing I always pre-crimp my ATX pins even though it takes longer overall. That way I find it easier to orient the pin on the wire. Some people can get the pin orientated correctly on the wire without pre-crimping, sadly I'm not one of those people.

7. LePhuronn

LePhuronn Minimodder

For some reason I wasn't getting notifications, so apologies for not replying.