1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Electronics Not Longer Needed - Building an Arduino Controlled USB Switch Box

Discussion in 'Modding' started by dynamis_dk, 30 Jan 2020.

1. dynamis_dk

dynamis_dk Grr... Grumpy!!

So at the moment the way I'm sharing out my usb keyboard / mouse is with 2 physical 4 to 1 switch boxes. Now they work just fine but it means box 1 is my keyboard and box 2 is my mouse, meaning each time I change output device (Main PC or Work Docking Station) I need to press two buttons... so it got me thinking. Given the hardware swtich is just plain traces on a PCB and no protector circuits couldn't I knock something up with a bunch of mosfets and an Arduino.

Now I have very little electrical knowledge. I can google my way round Arduino as I've a programming background and I know how to etch etc but actual brain cells containing electronics knowledge tops of around 'don't stick forks in plug sockets' :)

Keeping that in mine I had a mess and came up with this as a rough idea. The pin connections might not be all spot on but it to demo my idea rather than a technical work piece. This design would give me 1 switch box to have one input (say keyboard) to 3 different devices (i.e. PC, Laptop and Xbox).

[​IMG]

When ARD_P1 is 'on' from the Arduino, USB1 finds its way to USB3. ARD_P2 = USB2 etc