1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PSU ATX12vo Video

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Bloody_Pete, 14 Aug 2020.

1. Bloody_Pete

Bloody_Pete Technophile

LTT did the below video which I thought was super interesting!

2. Spraduke

Spraduke Lurker

I feel like they missed a trick in revising atx power supplies. If they had gone for one big connector for all power needs it could be so much cleaner. Scrap the CPU EPS plugs, that weird separate 8 pin SATA power feed (just put it on the one block) and even consider the same approach as the sata power offtake from the board for PCIE power connectors (i.e. a short cable run from GFX card to a power output on the mobo).

Not being an electrical engineer I suspect this approach wouldhit power draw issues of cabling/traces but if your going to break backwards compatibility you might as well do it wholesale.

3. wyx087

wyx087 Homeworld 3 is happening!!

That's really impressive.

I've been tracking my new Ryzen platform power use, it uses 60-80 watts at desktop and during normal light usage. If this can drop future more efficient components down to 20-30w, I'll be looking to switch on my next build (in 5+ years time)

Agree with @Spraduke, why not just have a single cable to mobo, another 2/3 to graphics card. Then mobo provides 2 connectors for SATA and molex. Nothing else is needed.

4. Anfield

Anfield Multimodder

5. Xlog

Xlog Minimodder

This is the case "we can't meet requirements X, so move some of the stuff to the parts that are not measured to meet X". And I somewhat doubt the likes of DELL or HP will use it, Dell dont seem to be bothered to use the standard ATX24 pinout then they use the same connector.
    Imo, what current ATX PSU spec needs is 24V option, so to ease implementations of 36/60W+ USB-PD implementations.

6. Bloody_Pete

Bloody_Pete Technophile