1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scratch Build – In Progress Aluminum Folly

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by Scarecrow1965, 27 Feb 2021.

1. Scarecrow1965

Scarecrow1965 What's a Dremel?

Alright, this is my first time even trying to post it but also to do it.

Usually one starts with all the parts and then proceed with the build. Mine, on the other hand, I'm starting with the computer case build since the parts are currently used on the computer I'm writing this post with. Once that computer case is built then I can show you what I'm starting with and then start putting things in the build.

But before I do that, I'm going to have to provide you with a history of the computer case.

I purchased this computer way back in 2012 with what I thought was a kick ass system:
    CPU: AMD FX 9370 (8 core)
    RAM: Corsair CMY16GX33M2A2400C11R (32 Gb)
    MB: ASUS ROG Crosshair V Formula Z with EK-FB-ASUS-C5F-Z
    Video Cards: Zotac GTX 980 Amp! Extreme x2 (SLI’d)
    Sound Card: Creative Sound Blaster Zx
    HDD: Seagate 1 TB
    SDD: Crucial 240 Gb and 500 Gb

I mistook the RAM for one that was on the QEV list. So it needs to be tweaked to go 2400 and be stable.

I bought two video cards since SLI was the thing and it costed me a small fortune.
    <see image IMG_0772> IMG_0772 - resized.jpg

Being an Canadian Military Avionics tech, we grew up to know all about wiring bundles and so I thought that it should be in the computer as well. Didn’t think I was doing well in that category at the time…
    <see image IMG_1169> IMG_1169 - resized.jpg IMG_1169 - resized.jpg

So for my first modding attempt, since I manage to get a I decided to get a res