1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Case Mod - In Progress Space Case Study (SCS-1)

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by Karrek, 9 Nov 2020.

1. Karrek

Karrek Minimodder

Hello all!
    I'm calling this project "Space Case Study 1" or SCS-1.
    --> Partly a case study on the minimum space an mATX case can take on my desk (the footprint).
    --> Partly an experiment (for me) in case-modding ideas and methods.
    --> And partly because as an amateur, my abilities and approach may remind others of a space case… :duh:

But regardless, I look forward to any inputs or thoughts others may have!

I have lurked on this website off and on for almost ten years now, and I've gotten close to starting a project log a few times, but because of life circumstances, the projects never really got off the ground. (blah blah, lack of time, moving frequently, not enough money, not enough time, kids, more excuses, more excuses, etc.) But enough of the excuses!

Goals:
    I am modding to get a case that I want, and I'll worry about specific hardware later - so not much sexy component pics here yet. One of the guiding goals of this mod is a minimal footprint on my desk - because hey, space is valuable in my home office in the laundry room (which also acts as a storage room, my workshop, a music room, and much more...).

I already had a false start that I'll briefly discuss below; and I expect this "case study" to take a couple turns as we go too...

So let's begin this journey...!

2. Midlight

Midlight Minimodder

If your looking for minimal footprint would ITX not be the better choice?

3. Karrek

Karrek Minimodder

Initial Design Ideas: