1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Portable Spec me tablet

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by javaman, 17 Aug 2021.

1. javaman

javaman May irritate Eyes

Hi everyone,

I've been using a Lenovo thinkpad tablet 10 for the past 6+ years for mainly taking notes, watching video and a backup device rather than having to take a laptop with me everytime.
    unfortunately the battery is now barely holding a charge so I'm looking for a replacement.

Since picking up this device the tablet market has very drastically changed to the point I don't believe I need windows for my needs hence I'm now looking at alternatives but can't decide what way to jump.

Priority wise would be notetaking in onenote, followed by battery life.

Currently i'm looking at the following devices:

Samsung galaxy S6/7 - Android has come a long way and supports onenotes, multi tasking, generally works better on a touch screen.

Apple Ipad - Generally been avoiding apple however price and polish on their products makes it very hard to ignore as an option. Main reason for avoiding is I can see it being the start of buying completely into Apples ecosystem

Onemix 3s - Slightly smaller screen size but good price and performance.

Pipo w12 - Random device I came across that uses windows on ARM. Great price but the downside as well as the upside is windows on ARM. People seem to like the surface pro x but finding a good in depth review that shows rather than talks about the problems

Surface GO 2 - Largely ruled out at this point. Poor price, storage will be a problem and by the time you add pen etc is more expensive than other options but on list as people do still hold it in high regard. Willing to have my mind changed on it.

Windows doesn't seem to be a necessity anymore but it has saved me on occasion being able to format a drive, or fix a line of code in visual studio. Those are exceptions rather than a required use case.