1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Electronics Help: Making sound activated or pulsating LEDs..?

Discussion in 'Modding' started by comprocket, 20 Jan 2004.

1. comprocket

comprocket What's a Dremel?

I have never used LEDs before, but being the computer geek I am, I was a pproached by a friend who does some DJing (sp?!?!) with a project. He is building a backdrop to place behind the DJ booth, but wanted it to be very customized. So me being sooo thoughtful said, "Well, i bet I could make your logo with LEDs and have it pulse to the beat." Well guess what...he liked it, and i am stumped where to find a guide on how to pull this off...any help would be appriciated!!! Thanks!

2. Malvolio

Malvolio .

Have you ever worked with circuts? Are you handy with a soldering iron? We need to know these things :p For somebody like me (who's not real handy with circuts and such) I would just take one of those sound activated cold cathodes, rip out the sound board, and use that to power the LED's. Give it a bit though, I'm sure somebody with more of a clue in electronics will reply :p

3. OldManOfModding

OldManOfModding What's a Dremel?

that would depend on a few things... how good u are with soldering et al, how complicated the design was and mainly these two things... size and power... ie how big and what sort of power supply u got :)

4. TheAnimus

TheAnimus Banned

the problem with the neon sound activated pulsers, is not only is their beat detection crap, but they have this ugly strobe effect. The first time i saw on a mates machine, i offered to solder up the lose wire for him, the beat detetion was so crap, i though the circuit was broken :duh:

Its very hard to do propper beat detection, FFT is complicated, and as i mentioned in a post in here titled sawtooth generation, getting a nice linear fade on an LED is also not straight forward.