1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Project:Blackbox

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by ambi, 21 Apr 2004.

1. ambi

ambi What's a Dremel?

Ok, so I have been viewing these forums for quite sometime and have recently got some inspiration to do my own mod, I had a clear acrylic case but got tire of that pretty quick, lesson learned :wallbash:, so I decided to pick up a chieftec wannabe and work on that, yes I know the chieftec design has been done a lot but I like the overall look of the case. So anyways to the modding part, this is my first time so its just some simple mods but ones that make the case look right. First I got a black case, so I decided to paint the frame all black, starting off with some primmer, then applying a coat of black satin paint. Next, there is a bar that goes across the top of the case so I got this idea, that if I put a piece of sheet medal that goes across the length and all the way to the top I could hide a lot of wires and the powersupply itself, which adds to that clean look. So I grabbed a piece of sheet medal from homedepot and then measured it and used a dremel to cut it out, once it was cut out, I was thinking I could spot weld it or sodder it to the medal but I was told that aluminum isnt all that good for that kind of stuff so I just used some super duty glue. The plan was to just glue the backside but my helper accidently dropped it and got glue on the front so I had to sand down the front side as much as I could when everything dryed. The next little mod was that the motherboard tray went all the way to the edge so I couldnt pass any wires through from the backside, so I used the dremel again and cut a little hole in the bottom corner so I could pass some wires through. I also sleeved the powersupply cables in black mesh so the theme so far is black and blue, but when I upgrade my motherboard and cpu Iam more than likely gonna get an MSI board whi