1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modding Stealthing question...

Discussion in 'Modding' started by Slayer, 20 Mar 2002.

1. Slayer

Slayer What's a Dremel?

Okay, I want to use the display that Macroman used in Macro black. I've never worked with one before and I don't have space, so I was wondering.....is it possible to put a burner behind the display so when you open up the burner, the display comes out also? So basiclly you're stealthing the burner with the display. Is this possible? If so, how?

2. Slayer

Slayer What's a Dremel?

By the way, I want to use the VK204-25 VFD from Matrix Orbital, not those PC bay inserts.

3. Maedhroz

Maedhroz What's a Dremel?

that is a really great idea and im sure that if you could pull it off it would look great. you have to keep in mind a couple things. first, you must fashion something to protect the pcb of the vfd. you would have to press the vfd against the cdrom in order to open it. second, the weight of the vfd may be too much for your cd rom tray to handle. third, you must consider the wiring for the vfd and allow plenty of slack for the tray to be extended and also organize the wire so it doesn't look stupid. however, if you get it arranged we would love to see some pics.

4. Slayer

Slayer What's a Dremel?

Last edited: 20 Mar 2002
  5. Slayer

Slayer What's a Dremel?

Well, I asked you guys over here because I don't know anything about modding. So this will be my first one. I would need a bunch of tips before actually trying it. And how would I get my cd-rom tray to handle it? It is actually a burner.

6. Maedhroz