1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Guide How to photograph your mod(s)

Discussion in 'Modding' started by PsychoI3oy, 23 Jun 2004.

1. PsychoI3oy

PsychoI3oy Minimodder

Due to a couple comments by some not-so-nice people in various threads here in the modding section, and the general feeling (with plenty of exceptions) that many modders simply don't know/care how to make good pictures digitally, I present a basic guide on taking digital pictures in low-light and up-close environments.

First, the disclaimer: I am by no means a professional photographer, nor do I think my word on the subject is final. There are plenty of people here better suited to writing this guide than I (our own g-gnome the ex-photog modder is the first person that springs to mind), but I see a need and know a few tricks to fill that need, so here goes. I am perfectly willing to edit in anyone else's tips, and constructive criticisim is appreciated. Camera specific tips are also appreciated, as I've only personally played with a few different digicams.

This tutorial assumes you have a digital camera, a computer, and some form of photo editing software. I personally have a Fuji FinePix 2650 (2mp, 3x optical zoom, point-and-shoot for the most part), an Athlon based system running Gentoo Linux, and I use The GIMP for photo editing (though I'm equally as good if not better on Photoshop in winders). If you are stuck using a camera phone or webcam for still shots, I'll see if I can't throw a couple tips at the end (I don't own a camera phone but I have been forced to suffer with a webcam for a while).

Part 1: General Tips

Hold the camera steady.