1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modding Psone Screen Mod Finished

Discussion in 'Modding' started by WILD9, 10 Jul 2004.

1. WILD9

WILD9 Been here aaaaages

Well i guess since ive been hanging round here for a couple of years I ought to get round to posting a mod :dremel:

I bought the screen and wired it up long before Bee's article after reading about it on Mp3 car forums but i never did anything with it. seeing Bees article gave me the kick i needed to finish off putting it in my case so i thought id share. :D

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

The surround is made from a layer of carbon fibre embedded in vinyl sandwiched between 2 layers of acrylic. The screen runs in vga off of a pci matrox mystique and im currently using it for Samurize stats.

2. 13eightyfour

13eightyfour Formerly Titanium Angel

looks good, i like the carbon fibre surround possible the most under used mod material ever. how much are those screens n e way???

3. WILD9

WILD9 Been here aaaaages

i paid about £70 6 months or so ago but i believe their cheaper now.

4. IanW

IanW Grumpy Old Git

If you can find one, Comet have been selling them for £19.99. There's been a
    thread about it in the Bargain Bin forum

5. 13eightyfour

13eightyfour Formerly Titanium Angel

hmmmm £19.99 u say, might have to get me 1 of those

6. Carbon

Carbon Banned

/me likes carbon :naughty:

7. Goldfish

Goldfish What's a Dremel?

Carbon fiber is great :) Specially when you sandwich it with a aluminium honycomb and put fiberglass on the inside. sorry, I like F1 cars...

Its probably underused because its near impossible to form it without using a massive great pressure oven to bake it in the right shape. Not exactly within the budget of a modder (unless they happen to work for a aeronautical or race-car company, maybe a university if your lucky). But yeah, its a cool material :)
    /me tries not to get OT