1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

overclocking applebred on at7max2

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by hardflipman, 28 Jul 2004.

1. hardflipman

hardflipman What's a Dremel?

howdy folks,
    just got me a duron 1800 applebred and seeing as it won't work in the machine i got it for(kt7a-raid) i fancy overclocking it a bit in my at7max2.
    i've heard that these things can go super fast but i couldn't get it to boot at 166 fsb or even 150. any suggestions? i'm a bit new to overclocking (well, i haven't overclocked anything since my dual celeron 366@450 system) and am not sure aout all the new fangled options.
    oh, i also managed to destroy my bios. so should hopefully have a new chip waiting for me when i get home...

2. Jon Mooring

Jon Mooring What's a Dremel?

Well, I'll tell you what someone told me when I wanted to overclock my XP :)

The first step is to make sure you have sufficient cooling. Get a nice HSF from a respectable company such as Thermaltake or Thermalright :) Next, go to your BIOS and lower your CPU multiplier to 10. Then slowly raise the FSB one step at a time. Use Prime95 to check for stability and MBM 5 to watch those tempertatures :) If your system won't boot or you get errors in P95, try raising the VCore a little bit before backing off on the FSB speed. Once you've found your max FSB speed, start to raise the CPU multiplier. Also, if you cheaped out on the memory and got PC-2100 or something, good luck getting it too high, because obviously the memory is effected by the FSB :(

Good luck! Hope it works out for you :)

3. yodasarmpit

yodasarmpit Modder

As above.

By the way what RAM dou you have, this could be the limiting factor here, if you are running PC2100 then that might be the problem, default speed is 133MHz.