1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Project: Blue Plexy Rectanguloid (temp) Started: 8/22/04

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by spac30dyss3y, 23 Aug 2004.

1. spac30dyss3y

spac30dyss3y What's a Dremel?

Well, here is the first installment of my first delve into case creation. I first came across bit-tech back at Christmas time and decided I wanted to build my own case. However school got in the way (I graduated salutatorian), and it has taken time to come up with the parts I need for my case. As it's getting close to college time and I need a case to take with me to the dorms I decided I had better get to it, so here goes. Whew!

If anyone would like to make a suggestion for a better name I'd be glad to hear it. Thx

Computer Specs(In sig):
    -I'll get pictures of the parts soon-

Materials:
    6 - 14" x 14" .25" Transparent Blue Acrylic sheets
    - I had 4 cut down to 9" x 14" when i realized how massive the case would be as a cube...
    16 - 7/8" x 7/8" glass binning connectors
    2 - glass binning hinges
    2 - glass binning clasps
    various screws, standoffs, etc.

First things first, when planning a case - you need to do some planning for parts fitment etc. and what better program to do this with than sketchup so here are to renders of what my project is planned to look like.

Front:

[​IMG]

Side:

[​IMG]

Top Down:

[​IMG]

Secondly, I decided to do a mockup with posterboard just so i could get a better real life Idea of what i was doing.

[​IMG]

After getting an idea of what it will be like in real life, I moved on to working with the parts, measuring out the acrylic, and working on the binning connectors.

I began to mark on the sheets of acrylic where i wanted to place the connectors, as well as marking them to size. This one is marked to become the front 14" x 9" piece.

[​IMG]

I laid out the acrylic so i could measure how each piece fit to the others next to it.