1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Networks Is Gigabit worth it?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jetsetjimbo, 22 Sep 2004.

1. jetsetjimbo

jetsetjimbo Up-up and away

I'm in the process of upgrading my network gear. I'm trying to make the decision between sticking with 100Mbit or whether to move upto 1000Mbit.

I transfer quite a bit of data across the network, both streaming media and backing stuff up. I'll also be adding an additional hub \ switch in a separate area of the house (to where the adsl modem, main switch and machine are) which will have the backup machine, fileserver and domain controller on it.

I don't know what to do, what sort of real life performace gain am I likely to see with average power machines?

Have been looking at the 8 port SMC SMC8508T as it's only £90 but to be honest I have no knowledge of equipment from this manufacturer.

Also would I just need one switch and then hubs for additional segments or would it be best to use a switch at each stage?

2. sinizterguy

sinizterguy Dark & Sinizter

From what I have heard, you need about a MHz per mbit of network speed to utilise it properly ... dont know if I put that through properly, but what it means is that you would need around 1GHz CPU power to utilise GigE properly.

GigE by itself can totally flood a PCI channel or whatever, making your system slower if there are other PCI cards around.

Also unless you have a fast RAID array, you will be limited by the HDD speed in your transfers, although you might see some improvement from 100mbit.

Switched are always better anywhere I think. A hub essentiall repeats incoming data to all outgoing ports I think. So each hub would be sending possibly unnecessary traffic to ports in your switch and could cause overall network to slow down.

Anyway, I am not an expert on these matters. These are just my thoughts.

3. riluve

riluve What's a Dremel?