1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Electronics genius idea!

Discussion in 'Modding' started by SoylentGreen, 2 Oct 2004.

1. SoylentGreen

SoylentGreen What's a Dremel?

have you guys ever seen hid proxypro cards? they're these security cards you just wave in front of the reader, no swiping required. because they don't need to read a barcode, you could put plexi or something over it and it could be completely hidden. i want to make a switch where you wave a card over a certain part of the computer and a hidden reader behind it turns the computer on. :rock: but hey i have no experience so i want to hear about someone else doing it first

2. SilentDeath

SilentDeath What's a Dremel?

Would that be like the RFID tags in stores and such? I've never seen such cards.

3. SoylentGreen

4. MegadetHCl

MegadetHCl What's a Dremel?

Did some reading on that site, and found this link

Proximity Screen Lock

Sounds interesting, but expensive.

5. KingofHearts

KingofHearts What's a Dremel?

im guessing its basically like a mobile speed pass in the states. you just wave it and it reads it. its a clever idea but to expensive to be worth the time.

6. SoylentGreen

negative, i've found readers for 20 bucks. only thing is it looks difficult to program the cards. i don't think i would want to buy a new one, or that one that locks the workstation. i want to use it as a power switch.

7. SoylentGreen

SAVE US JEBUS! i mean, ZAPWIZARD!

8. Langer

Langer Jesse Lang

I'd say repost in the "electronics" forum, you'll have more luck there.

9. lasoaaro

lasoaaro What's a Dremel?

Btw...That was my idea to use on my Mod...those things a Bloody expensive...like $150US...anyway..Later..

10. SoylentGreen

if you get a new one...i saw one for 20 but its unprogrammed and doesn't come with cards

11. nizon

nizon What's a Dremel?

12. h_2_o

h_2_o What's a Dremel?