1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modding I wanna mod my PS2

Discussion in 'Modding' started by Kam, 8 Nov 2004.

1. Kam

Kam What's a Dremel?

Ok this is my first time trying to mod anything, let alone what Im attempting. Please bear with my noobness. Im going to be asking alot of questions and some of them WILL be noobish. So please bear with me.

Ok... I know people build custom PC cases all the time. What I wanna do is build a custom case for my PS2. I wanna remove the black metal/plastic covers on the system itself and on the front of the CD tray and custom build a case.

What I wanna know:
    • Should I use plexi? If not, what material should I use? I want it to be see-thru.
    • If I DO use plexi, how can I put it together? Would it be best to lead it with a scoring bit and then drill the screw into the drilled hole, or to just screw it into the plexi (i heard it has a higher chance to crack if I do it that way)? Should I drill right through from one piece of plexi to the other, use L-brackets, or use a long "L" shaped brace all along the edge of 2 pieces of plexi?
    • Also, I want to install small (6-10") blacklights or colored cathodes. How would I power the lights? Would it be possible to just splice the wires that lead to the "power on" indicator and use them to power the lights? Ive been to pctoys.com and have seen their cathode kits and most of them have that power inverter but I doubt the PS2 came with an outlet for that. hehe.
    • Do I need any special blades to cut plexi or can I just use a jigsaw and then just sand the plexi?
    • How thick should I go with the plexi? 1/4"? 1/8"?

Are there any links to any posts here or anywhere else that would help with this? Are there any sites that I could to go for help? Anything?

Anything that anyone can give me info on would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks in advance everyone.

2. [Tom]

[Tom] Minimodder

Look Here