1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

First Full Mod Project-Dell to Civic Conversion

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by idolcrash, 8 Jan 2005.

1. idolcrash

idolcrash What's a Dremel?

This is my first time doing a full mod (the most I've done is add parts, lights, sleeve cables, etc. on my homemade computer), but it hopefully won't be my last. I have some info at my Slashdot Journal, but I'd figure I'd do well to share it here, as well, since the journal mostly holds a bunch of notes for me to remember as well.

The basic idea is to take a Dell Optiplex GX110 and modify it to imitate (and mock) a "riced out" Honda Civic (for those who aren't familiar with the term--and there are some out there--"riced out" basically is a label for a car that looks much faster than it can move). The premise behind this future fileserver will be that it will look fast, but the chip inside is only a 933mhz Pentium III and holds 128 or 256 mb of RAM.

Here is my mod checklist:
    • Paintjob
    • Head and tail lights
    • Spoiler
    • Ground lights
    • Muffler
    • Tinted case windows
    • Front and top plastic "coverings"
    • Body Kit
    • Case feet with rims

This certainly is not finalized, however. The paintjob is nearly finished, and cutting a window will be difficult, because, besides never having cut a window before, I will have to make them fit on sides that are about 4~6 inches in height, and figure out something to do with the vents on those sides and the buttons used to open the case.

Next post: pictures!

2. idolcrash

Here is the case before painting, after cleaning (amazing how dirty it still was), and after a sad attempt at ripping off the stickers (I still need to go over everything with steel wool tonight to get some sticker poo off and to smooth the paint, then do some more coats and gloss).
    [​IMG]