1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Electronics 0V, Ground...

Discussion in 'Modding' started by JP128, 8 May 2007.

1. JP128

JP128 What's a Dremel?

I am new to electronics, as I have said, and I would really like to know what the 0V / Ground is. I have seen them on many circuits, and they seem to have confused me because they don't seem to go anywhere. If anyone could explain what it is that would be great... ( Here is a place where I saw one: transistor )

Another thing is Zero Volt Rail? I have looked all over online, and couldn't really find anything that was about that...

2. Xiachunyi

Xiachunyi What's a Dremel?

Ground is referred to as a zero-voltage reference to a higher potential in a circuit. It can also be seen as the returning point for which current to move toward from the higher potential end (this is subject to debate based on actual electron flow and hole flow but whatever).

An analogy would be the height a book is off a surface. If a book was placed on a table, the difference between the book and table's surface would be 0 since the table's surface is the reference (ground). However, if you consider the reference point to be the floor, the difference would be the table's height.

In a nutshell, ground is just a reference point. If I say 3 miles to get to the fire station, you will want to know from where. That "where" is your reference point. Same as ground for an electrical circuit.

Edit: In a modder's perspective: There are a few posts that deal with giving 7v to fans without the use of resistors, voltage regulators, or anything of that nature. They tie the black wire, ground, to +5v and the red wire to +12v. In this scenario, +5v serves as ground and +12v serves as the higher potential. To the fan, it only sees +7v since +5v is used as a reference point.

3. cpemma

cpemma Ecky thump