1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Motors 2 car q's for u all...

Discussion in 'General' started by ginguskahn, 25 Sep 2003.

1. ginguskahn

ginguskahn What's a Dremel?

1) Been offered a P reg ford fiesta, lots of miles (motorway), like 120,000 I think, pretty damn good nic considering, new mot for 1,200pounds... good deal or no? Just after something to drive around really, 1st car... it is white tho :rolleyes: o its 5 door.

2) After a Mp3 head unit, got about 160 to spend but can add a bit more for delivery (so basically 160 for HU), would rather not spend it all if I can help it, want something decent though, looks quite nice and good sound, Im not a bass head or anything :p Ive seen some Panasonics that look quite nice but Im new to this car lark so I dont know whats what yet ;)

Panasonic CQDFX683 was the one i looked at for 159.99 i think, Id rather steer away (no pun) from kenwood if i can, dont like that kitchen blender feel ;)

[​IMG]

Any help appreciated, im a n00b :p

Last edited: 25 Sep 2003
  2. HellDiver

HellDiver What's a Dremel?

P-reg in the Fiesty is the new shape, isn't it? What engine has it? If it's the 1.1, avoid. Wheezy old clunkbuckets those things.

The 1.3 is a similar engine, but they added stuff like horsepower and torque which you don't get with the 1.1.

The 1.8 diesel is the best engine they put in the Fiesty, along side the 1.25 Zetec 16v. Chances are the one you're looking at isn't a Zetec though.

As with any high miler, make sure the damned thing was serviced regularly. Fiestas are 6-9000 miles for petrol, or 6,000 miles for the davy-diesel. Also at 120k you're looking at a new gearbox and clutch in the near future, if they havn't already been replaced.

Basically, you should be able to get better for the same money.

3. ginguskahn