1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice $2000 High quality HTPC + Gaming Rig - FINAL STAGES

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by yelloweyes, 26 Dec 2010.

1. yelloweyes

yelloweyes What's a Dremel?

Hey Everyone :)
    Sorry to do the newbie leach - But I'm very new to the computer building concept as i kind of got pushed into it.

Anyway, I am moving into a new apartment, and I dont exactly have the room to store all my DVD's and thought it would be a good opportunity to digitise my collection as well as condense my electronic paper weights (CD/DVD/PC) into a HTPC :) (Also, I can completely understand if the forum wont help with the concept of personal digitisation of a dvd collection).

Budget: Around or below $2200 AUD - High Quality which will last me a long time

Main uses of intended build: High quality Home theatre and medium/high gaming.
    Storage requirements: Most of my storage will be via NAS
    Extra information about desired system: Quiet / No internal lights (we all know how annoying the LED glow is when youre in a dark room :wallbash: )

Most Recent EDIT:
    Could i Please have advice on a TV TUNER which provides HDTV (preferably dual)?

Could someone also recommend a GFX Card for me please? I currently thought of the XFX Radeon HD6870 1GB at $279 AUD but i have they are fairly noisy for their grade... Essentially what I require is GFX that handles 1080p Video and also can handle high gaming

In terms of a PSU would a CoolerMaster Silent Pro Gold 800W be a good choice?

Im also looking at a Harmony One ... How do i go about ensuring i can operate my HTPC with it? Will it work with Windows Media Centre? I thought the tuner may be involved in this part so i havent chosen one as of yet.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

So far I have:

CPU: Intel i5 2500 Sandy Bridge – - – $229
    MOBO: ASUS P8P67 Deluxe Motherboard – - – $325