1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Displays 22'' - £100

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by MarkW7, 26 Jan 2009.

1. MarkW7

MarkW7 Total Noob

Hello -

I have been looking for a 22'' Monitor for under £100 with shipping, i saw one on Dabs for £95 with shipping but they mailed me saying it'd been discontinued, gutted i am still on the hunt.

Specs i would like / Non needed really.

Colour; Black.
    Connection - VGA and DVI.

Main use - Internet browsing: sending emails and forums.

Maybe in the future when i get some more money and can actually afford to make a machine i can game on this may come into play - but thats another story.

Any suggestions / Sites.
    Thanks.

2. bigsharn

bigsharn Officially demotivated

Mark, with the graphics cards you're using I'd stay 17", any more is a waste

if you're that hell-bent on getting a 22", check Ebay, on a £100 budget you're looking at about 19" brand new

3. MarkW7

MarkW7 Total Noob

Hey Sharn,

I could always get a better card but i've used that with a 21'' CRT and it was fine. Few shops have 22''s for 130ish.

Dabs did have one like i say but they've stopped selling, :l god knows why.

4. azrael-

azrael- I'm special...

Well, a few things to keep in mind: TFT (LCD) monitors run best on a digital connection (DVI-D or HDMI). Analog video (VGA) only looks decent up to a resolution of approx. 1280x1024. Any higher and picture quality degrades faster than an M&M in your mouth... :)

5. Krikkit

Krikkit All glory to the hypnotoad! Super Moderator

I have to disagree with the above - I'm using a 20" TFT here, 1650*1080 looks perfectly fine over DVI-A->VGA.

Don't forget, VGA is capable of handling far more bandwidth than even 24" monitors provide.