1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Electronics 5.1 - Headphone Switch

Discussion in 'Modding' started by Devil_H@ck, 25 May 2003.

1. Devil_H@ck

Devil_H@ck What's a Dremel?

I want to use this circuit to turn off the audio signal to my 5.1 boxes when I insert my headphone in the specified switch.
    Would this work? I'm not really good at electronics, so any help is welcome.

The circuit below is a new version. See below for more details.

[​IMG]

Last edited: 26 May 2003
  2. SteveyG

SteveyG Electromodder

It would work, but its a very very poor design and I'd personally steer well clear of it. You could make a better design that would have better results using a set of relays, so long as you have nothing against relays, because the current design would drastically reduce the quality of the sound. Maybe you could use some CMOS bilateral switches instead? Just be sure to use a split supply for these (+/- 7.5V).

3. Devil_H@ck

Hm, so it would work? Cool, I haven't got electronics at school so I'm proud of myself ;).

But what are those CMOS bilateral switches you are talking about? Could you explain it a bit more pls, because the clicking sound of relays makes me nervous :).
    And yes, I know that there are non-clicking relays, but they seem to be expensive, or would this CMOS thing be even more expensive?

*mod: Hm, I think that those CMOS chips you're talking about arae actually the non-clicking relays I am talking about.
    I asked for one once in an electronics shop and the guy showed me a chip so ...

4. Devil_H@ck

Ok, I posted a new version.

I added 1 functionality because someone over at Shrimpwars forum asked.

The DPDT switch is used to switch between auto-modus (this automaticly turns of the boxes when a headphone is inserted) and manual mode (you can chose what is activated by switching the SPST switch).