1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Displays A little monitor buying help please.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Zener Diode, 11 Oct 2009.

1. Zener Diode

Zener Diode User Title

2. damienVC

damienVC What's a Dremel?

It certainly looks like a fairly good spec - I'm no expert but am looking at a new monitor at the moment as well. The main factor is going to be the rest of your rig - it needs to be a fairly good spec to run at the native resolution. If you're happy that it will, then go for it. For 180 euros you could probably pick up a 24" monitor at similar spec though - I'm looking at an Acer monitor on Amazon that's broadly similar price wise, but at 24".

3. Zener Diode

Zener Diode User Title

Thanks for the reply.

I would say my rig will cope, I haven't built it yet so I don't know. The monitor is the only thing I haven't decided on, once I pick one I will proceed to order the rest of the stuff. I am getting an i7 920, an Asus P6T SE mobo, a GTX 260 and 6Gb DDR3 RAM at 1600MHz. I'll check out some 24" monitors but I think I'll stick with a 22". I would imagine that, because the 24" monitors are usually 1920x1080 also, the 22" ones would be slightly clearer and sharper.

Thanks again and I hope your monitor search works out well.

4. gaz_360

gaz_360 Make that change

That LG monitor is really really good, I was gonna buy one for my 360, and I was very impressed by the picture quality and specs. In the end I didn't go for it because it didn't have built in speakers, and went for the Viewsonic VX2260WM, the only reason is becuase of my setup with DVD and freeview etc.

The constrast ratio is very nice, although sometimes loses slight detail in the blacks, but hardly noticable when running through HDMI.