1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Electronics Advice 30 LED array

Discussion in 'Modding' started by Defyant Mods, 17 Mar 2012.

1. Defyant Mods

Defyant Mods Multimodder

Hi guys, was hoping there were some Electronic techs around that could help me out.

I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to electronics sorry,

Iv'e just spent the last few days building a very simple 12volt parallel array using 3mm 16k white LED's which i assumed were 3.2volt 20ma LED's.

I found an online resistor calc that showed if i wanted to run 30 of the above i would need to run 1 x single 15ohm 8.8 watt Resistor. (10watt) being the closest.

This indeed did cut the voltage to 3.1-3.2 volts!

I have set the array up but have found the Resistor runs pretty hot, not that that is my major concern. From what i now read here and elsewhere it becomes apparent that

i should have run these in smaller bunches of maybe 5 or less? with a smaller resistor for each cluster. To pull the array out no would be a massive headache as its already installed in a headlight. The resistor runs externally.

Is there any safe guard i could add in now to help? ie adding another resistor? lower the voltage again maybe to a safer limit 2.9 volt?

Any advice is very much appreciated.

Last edited: 17 Mar 2012
  2. Archer

Archer Talga Vassternich - Deserve Victory

If I understand correctly you have all 30 in parallel? In that case, yes, I would advice you create more groups. Just so that you can have less witing running all over the show. In terms of power wasted/heat it pretty much ends up being the same thing regardless of how its wired up.