1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice Advice for a NEW gaming PC build

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Grimm, 27 Oct 2008.

1. Grimm

Grimm New Member

Hi there. I am totally new at building PCs. I am currently in the process of building a new gaming PC. But before I order all the hardware, I just wanted to get some advice from the forums on whether my PC would work. Main functions I will be using the PC for is hardcore gaming; normal uses (such as word processing, surfing the net, etc.) but also want to try my hand at overclocking. I am not on any strict budget at the moment, as I will be buying the hardware each month and building it up, so I am open to all ideas. Some of the parts I am going to mention are a little uncertain at this point as I don't know whether they will be suitable or not. Ok, so here is the build I hoping to go for - all parts and prices are from a UK based website called overclockers and all include VAT:

CPU

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 LGA775 'Yorkfield' 3.0GHz 12MB-cache (1333FSB) Processor - Retail - £339.49

CPU Cooler

Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme CPU Cooler (Socket AM2/LGA775) - £41.11 (plus I will be buying a 120mm fan to go with it)

MOBO (uncertain)

Main features I am looking for is the ability for TriSLi, and must be stable enough to overclock on as well.

EVGA nForce 780i SLI nForce 780i (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard (132-CK-NF78-A1) - £187.99

GPU (uncertain)

Point of View GeForce GTX 280 1024MB GDDR3 TV-Out/Dual DVI (PCI-Express) - Retail - £317.24

BFG GeForce GTX 280 OC 1024MB GDDR3 TV-Out/Dual DVI (PCI-Express) - Retail - £323.11

Memory (uncertain)

RAM I am totally unsure about at this point. I am unable to find the right RAM to fit the MOBO at the moment. So any help with that would be greatly appreciated.

Hard Drives (uncertain)

Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000 1TB SATA-II 32MB Cache - OEM (0A35155) - £85.76

Optical Drives