1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Airflow Questions/Ideas/Diagrams - 56k Warning

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Zurechial, 29 Apr 2007.

1. Zurechial

Zurechial Elitist

I'm posting this here as I'm looking for advice on my system, it's not a project log....yet. ;)

Rather than trying to give an idea of the airflow of my system in text, I've drawn some diagrams here with Sketchup & PSP:

Case: Silverstone Temjin-06

Internals shown below are my build plans for next month:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

The first thing you'll notice about the system is that the internals are reversed, and the mainboard is mounted on the opposite side to a standard ATX rig.
    I've been using this case for almost 2 years now and I love it, but the non-standard airflow of the case leaves me with a few questions I was hoping someone else could clear up.
    Currently I'm using the exact same layout, but with these changes:
    -A64 3500+ in place of the C2D, using a Zalman 7700B Cooler
    -1 Gb of DDR1
    -Only one 7900GT instead of two
    -Thermaltake PurePower Butterfly 480w PSU (or should that be POS? :rolleyes: )

I have the A64 overclocked to 2497MHz (Multi 11 x 297 FSB) at 1.5v and the 7900GT overclocked to 530/1440 (Won't go any higher without a voltmod :( )
    The CPU idles around 38C and hits about 58C under load, while the 7900GT idles around 40C and hits about 60C under load.
    Those temperatures lead me to think that the airflow of my system is adequate, but with room for improvement, especially when considering that the C2D and an extra 7900GT will considerably add to the amount of heat generated.
    Right now, the 120mm fans are being used to cool the ram & CPU, but without the included air-shroud by Silverstone, as it doesn't fit over the Zalman CPU cooler