1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scratch Build – In Progress Alu-Alure - 5th January - Update 3 Precision Cutting Begun

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by Fractal, 5 Jan 2011.

1. Fractal

Fractal I Think Therefore I Mod

Alu-Alure

This project will become the case for my main PC. I intend it to cool the computer effectively and quietly. Being a tertiary student I have a limited budget so I will be limiting myself to one material and won't be implementing water-cooling, although the case will be designed to fit it (hey hey sponsors, if you want to send me water-cooling parts I'll put them in ;)).

So the background to this is that at the moment I have a Lian Li B25-B. It looks nice and fits everything I want in it so far. However it is a little small to work in, is difficult to move about, overheats occasionally in Summer (30+°C days) and isn't all that quiet because it is built of thin aluminium.

This case will be a box around 500x300x550mm (HxWxD). Vents in the bottom will allow air to be blown upwards through the components by a pair of Silverstone Air Penetrator 180mm fans. The air will be exhausted through the roof of the case. This will be a rotated-motherboard design with all the I/O ports on top, similar to the Silverstone Fortress family of cases. There will be space for two 9x120mm radiator cores to be mounted internally. Of course these won't be installed in the near future so that space will be taken up with sound dampening foam.

Almost this entire build will be from a single 1200x2400x2mm sheet of aluminium. Here it is in all its' lustrous glory. It's so beautiful I don't want to cut it; just mount it on the wall and admire it or something.
    [​IMG]

I'm doing most of the project at the workshop of my Summer employer, I've been very fortunate to have access to such a facility. This gives me plenty of space and some neat equipment to use.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]