1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Peripherals Amplifier for gaming

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by gaz_360, 6 Dec 2010.

1. gaz_360

gaz_360 Make that change

Hi

Im a bit new to the whole sound game, ive always concentrated on trying to get the best display for gaming, but have now decided to turn my attention to some better sound quality.

I currently have a 5.1 surround sound set-up, but I don't think im using it to its full advantage. There is a sub-woofer unit where the other 5 speakers then connect into, then from the sub-woofer ive run the tow red and white cables into my head phone jack on my monitor (not the best way I know). So now I'd really like to get 'true' surround sound, as this is only 2.1 technically I think, as im not using a SPDIF cable.

There is not other connection for SPDIF on the sub-woofer, so im guessing I need to hook it up to an amplifier. However I can't find one that has all of the speaker connections, as well as using SPDIF. Mainly I will be using it for xbox gaming, as the slim now has built in SPDIF.

So if someone could please make this a bit clearer to me I would appreciate it very much.

Thanks

Gaz

2. memeroot

memeroot aged and experianced

id presume that the sub ocntaines the amps for the surround speakers

3. docodine

docodine killed a guy once

Take a look at the Astro Mixamp

4. gaz_360

gaz_360 Make that change

Yes, well sort of. The sub has the 5 connections (black and red tabs) where the speaker wires go into. I would try and link to the model of the set up, but I can't seem to find any info on it anywhere on the web, almost as if its non existent.

5. gaz_360

gaz_360 Make that change