1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

anyone doing a physics PHD at cambridge?

Discussion in 'General' started by phaSe, 24 Nov 2003.

1. phaSe

phaSe What's a Dremel?

Hi,

Im thinking Cheese does, but im not sure.

Anyways, I was just wondering how you're finding it? How hard was it to get onto? Number of people doing one? etc

Im in my 3rd year of a 4 year physics Msci at Imperial (althought im spending this year out in Germany) and am really thinking of doing a phd afterwards, in particular at Cambridge. Im not really sure what area yet, although so far ive found Polymer semiconductors, Spintronics and solid statey stuff pretty interesting.

Sorry its such a broad question, im just hoping for a bit of useful feed back really!

please feel free to email me: needsahaircut (at) hotmail.com

Thanks in advance,

RoB

2. Alaric

Alaric code assassin

Can't really help with the phd side, but if you'd like to know more about the town or colleges let me know. I'm currently in my second year reading compsci at Clare.

Alaric.

3. Guest-16

Guest-16 Guest

Jeees some people are too clever. That another 3 years!! You better like what you're gonna be doing that's all ill say. Tis not for me, i think ill crash out after doing my MSc tbh.

4. Cheese

Cheese Doc

Yep I'm doing a Ph.D. at Cambridge, I'm in the semiconductor physics group but most of my work is really quantum optics... just so happens it's a bit of semiconductor that I shine my laser at ;)

I wouldn't worry about a picking a particular group just yet, spintronics could put you in semiconductors, opto electronics, microelectronics, or probably even polymer and colloids - there's a lot of overlap between the areas. Just come for an open day, talk to as many people as possible, find a group you like and badger 'em until they give you funding :)