1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bacterial growth in res seams?

Discussion in 'Watercooling' started by The_Crapman, 29 Jan 2018.

1. The_Crapman

The_Crapman World's worst stuntman. Lover of bit-tech

Stripped down my rig today ready for the upgrade and there's some odd discolouration along the edges of my res chambers.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

The chamber on the right is worse and was the Cpu loop. I opened up the block and that wasn't too bad:
    [​IMG]

A little bit of gunk but not bad considering I've been running the same fluid since April 2015! :worried:

Would this be caused by bacterial growth or something else, possibly excess heat from the pumps? I had the pumps running with some water round to give them a rinse and they got pretty bloody hot with no airflow on them. They didn't get much air when installed and the Cpu pump would have got the least amount of cooling.

2. Vault-Tec

Vault-Tec Green Plastic Watering Can

It could be growth or just muck. Unfortunately when you plastic weld something you get patterns in it (you can't help it) and thus whatever that is in browny red has seeped into the joins. For the whiteness etc just use distilled white vinegar. It will get rid of anything scale related.

Also not sure what coolant you were using but I swear by XPSC EC6. It has everything in it you need, plus it's non toxic. I just drained my green rig today after about 18 months and all I got in the coffee filter was a couple of small bits of black plastic from the acetal 90 degs (tiny shavings from the fittings going in).

3. Guest-56605

Guest-56605 Guest

2-3 hours soaking in a dilute solution of warm water/white vinegar should lift the worst of it.

DDC's I've found do benefit from heatsinks, D5's are cooled by the coolant itself as it is pumped through.

4. TheMadDutchDude

TheMadDutchDude The Flying Dutchman