1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Equipment Best Camera for £500

Discussion in 'Photography, Art & Design' started by bagman, 8 Dec 2015.

1. bagman

bagman Minimodder

Got some Christmas money so decided I want a proper camera to get the companies instagram going.

I have about £500 to spend can go higher if needs be. I will be mainly taking photos of cars on race tracks and up close at car meets and exhibitions.

I am new to proper photography so a link to a guide on the basics will also help.

Thanks

2. Porkins' Wingman

Porkins' Wingman Can't touch this

I'm not gonna suggest a particular make, model or even type, but just bear in mind camera's drop rapidly in price, so you can easily get caught up looking for the best only to see it plummet in value over the next 12-18 months.

3. MadGinga

MadGinga oooh whats this do?

If you are talking DSLR, then pick a mid-range body and spend your money on the glass (the lenses)...

4. bdigital

bdigital Is re-building his PC again

If your shooting at a track, then reach will be your main goal (longer focal lengths) which can end up expensive.

However if its mostly static up close shots of cars etc then theres lots of decent options.

I do bikes at the track. see www.polarityphoto.co.uk

5. LennyRhys

LennyRhys Fan Fan

If you are new to "proper photography" then IMO you should be starting with entry level gear. I now use a Nikon D3200 having previously owned professional level gear, and to be honest even entry level DSLRs have the potential to produce stunning results. You don't even need expensive lenses (I use a kit lens and an "old" 50mm prime).

If you have £500 available I'd spec £300-350 for a good entry level DSLR and the remaining £150-200 you can spend on a telephoto zoom lens for track. There are a number of relatively good "all purpose" lenses out there but the drawback is that they can make even a small camera very bulky.