1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Electronics Bulgin illum. vandel switch

Discussion in 'Modding' started by Guido, 2 Feb 2004.

1. Guido

Guido What's a Dremel?

Just ran across a few of these in some threads that I've been reading and have a question. Let me tell ya, I have little to no experience/use/knowledge of wiring, etc...

So, if I were to buy one of these, would connecting it as a power and/or reset switch be pretty simple? Would it just take connecting the power wires to the connections on the back of the switch, or is there more to it?

Oh, I've :search:

Nobody?

Last edited: 3 Feb 2004
  2. coorz

coorz Miffed

Yes very simple, the Bulgin has 4 screw contacts, the ones marked with (+) and (-) are for the built in LED, the other two are for the switching mechanism.
    So cut of your current powerswitch (or reset) cable (at the switch end) and stick those 2 cables in the Bulgin non-marked screwholes, doesn't matter which goes where.
    The LED is same procedure, just take notice of the anode(+) and kathode(-) sequence, connect it, if it doesn't light up just switch the cables around.
    Take note that you can connect the HDD or power activity LED's without any problem, just don't put +5 volts directly on the LED without a limiting resistor.

3. Guido

Guido What's a Dremel?

This is exactly what I was looking for. Thanks coorz!

4. ASCII

ASCII What's a Dremel?

OK, I'm totally new at this too, and this is slightly off topic, but I was wondering if I could use a bulgin vandal switch to power my CC lights. I have 2 inverters, each with 2 lights connected to it. I wanted to make sure the switch could work for the 12v (I assume) circuit, and also what I need to connect to the + and - contacts for the LED to work... just a red and black from one of my molex connectors?

Thanks!
    -Justin

Last edited: 18 Apr 2004
  5. cpemma

cpemma Ecky thump