1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Equipment Buying a DSLR

Discussion in 'Photography, Art & Design' started by TNash, 6 Jun 2007.

1. TNash

TNash What's a Dremel?

I'm in the process of choosing a DSLR to buy and I was wondering what people's opinions were. I had been using a Panasonic Lumix FZ-20 up until November of last year when I stupidly knocked it off my desk. Unfortunately the fall broke the lens motor :wallbash: . I really loved that camera for the manual focus and fantastic lens with image stabilization. I took 900-some pictures on a vacation to California last year (hopefully I'll have the time to post some of them) and I got used to using it.

I would say I'm an moderately advanced amateur photographer, and I'm looking to step up to a DSLR instead of buying another point and shoot superzoom. I'm no stranger to SLR, as I've used my Dad's old Olympus OM 10 for a couple of photography classes in high school.

OK, enough with the background, time for some questions. I'm currently trying to decide between the Nikon D80 and the Canon Digital Rebel XTi (400D). So I was wondering, for the people that own these cameras, what do you like/dislike about them? What lenses do you have and what kind of image quality are you getting? Anyone that has used both: which do you like better and why?

So, a bit of background on what I'm looking for, to aid in responses:
    • I'd really like image stabilization like my Lumix had, I tend to have a lot of camera shake. I've looked at the Sony Alpha and have thought also about the Olympus E-510 that will be coming soon, as both have in-camera image stabilization.
    • There have to be a fair amount of good lenses available (hence why I've narrowed to the D80 and the XTi).
    • Ease of use, but not at the expense of customizability.
    • Good battery life.
    • Fast response times.