1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Development C++ - C1004: unexpected end-of-file found

Discussion in 'Software' started by Cabe6403, 1 Jul 2010.

1. Cabe6403

Cabe6403 Supreme Commander

Right, so I'm new to C++ and I'm working on a small project but I keep getting this error. I've counted all my {},[],'',"" etc but I can't get it fixed =/ :wallbash:

Until recently I'd basically never used C++. I have some experience in C but mainly in C# and Java. It's probably something ridiculously simply that I'm just missing

The offending code:

Code:
    class Attribute {

Attribute(char sName[], double dValue){
    		char name[] = sName;
    		double value = dValue;
    	}

void setName(char sName[]){
    		name = sName;
    	}

char* getName(){
    		return name;
    	}

void setValue(double dValue){
    		value = dValue;
    	}

double getValue(){
    		return value;
    	}
    }

2. capnPedro

capnPedro Hacker. Maker. Engineer.

Code:
    #include <iostream>
    #include <string>
    using namespace std;

class Attribute {
    	double value;
    	string name;

public:
    	Attribute(string, double);
    	void setValue(double);
    	double getValue();

void setName(string);
    	string getName();
    };

Attribute::Attribute(string sName, double dValue) {
    		name = sName;
    		value = dValue;
    	}

void Attribute::setName(string sName) {
    		name = sName;
    	}

string Attribute::getName() {
    		return name;
    	}

void Attribute::setValue(double dValue) {
    		value = dValue;
    	}

double Attribute::getValue() {
    		return value;
    	}
    I fixed a few problems. You need to read up how to do classes. And I swapped your character arrays for strings purely because I don't know your data requirements (and strings don't require lengths/recasting) so it would compile OK.

Cabe6403 likes this.
  3. Cabe6403

Cheers dude, classes in C++ are quite different from what I'm used to!