1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Development C++/Open GL based Game engine

Discussion in 'Software' started by Zero_UK, 2 Feb 2012.

1. Zero_UK

Zero_UK What's a Dremel?

Hey

I am studying C++ and have been given the task to produce a program as apart of my degree. One of the projects we are allowed to make is a small game with the help of openGL.

Has anyone had experience with a game engine they can recommend to a beginner user, most tutors are recommending UDK and Dark GDK over something like the Quake engine however I'm up for other opinions - someone is wanting to do theirs on the Crytek engine for example.

Some google searches and Dark GDK seems pretty good, but of course always willing to hear other peoples thoughts.

Cheers.

Last edited: 2 Feb 2012
  2. Votick

Votick My CPU's hot but my core runs cold.

id tech 3 engine is freely available apparently it's quite good for a learning point of view.

Zero_UK likes this.
  3. GuilleAcoustic

GuilleAcoustic Ook ? Ook !

No idea, I made my own one since it is the best way to learn OGL IMHO. I saw mainy people using OGRE 3D : http://www.ogre3d.org/

Zero_UK likes this.
  4. Zero_UK

Zero_UK What's a Dremel?

thanks, I'll look into them both!

I have been looking at id tech 3, think that is C only. C++ for Id tech 4 and I think the open source is now available unlike UDK I don't think you can do much C++ would have to chat with tutors about it.

I'll take a look at Orge too - first look straight into the source code with all the C++ classes.. think I'm going to have my work cut out for me.

Last edited: 2 Feb 2012
  5. ruke

ruke What's a Dremel?

Among UDK, CryEngine and Unity the most beginner friendly is Unity (unity3d.com).

6. Zero_UK

Zero_UK What's a Dremel?