News Cancer research goes open

Discussion in 'Article Discussion' started by CardJoe, 23 Jun 2008.

1. CardJoe

CardJoe Freelance Journalist

2. konsta

konsta What's a Dremel?

Of course it is intended to benefit the company. But that is really the whole point of companies. I'm happy so long as we get access to cures faster.

People love to criticise drugs companies, but the simple fact is, that the western world has so far entirely failed to find a viable alternative, and you cannot sit there and moan about their profits if you have no better suggestion. In a capitalist world, we generally believe that profits are good.

3. Darkedge

Darkedge Minimodder

cynical and while I agree with you Konsta I'd go further and say that in the capitalist world, we generally believe that profits are <b>god</b>.

4. Icy EyeG

Icy EyeG Controlled by Eyebrow Powers™

As a researcher, I believe that one of the main reasons that cancer research (and other fields as well) as developed so much over the last years is that it is very easy to share information among researchers. So these initiatives that allow free share of scientific information are essential and the example should be followed.
    IMAO, all scientific research (at least in these fields) should be free and drug companies should focus on cost effective production mechanisms and distribution of the final product.

5. liratheal

liratheal Sharing is Caring

I'm all for open medical research. I don't understand a single damned thing of it, but hey. Someone does - and I'm sure they'll be happy to see this.

6. Krikkit

Krikkit All glory to the hypnotoad! Super Moderator

As long as the GSK cancer-cure comes in at <£1000, I don't mind what preferential treatment they get.

7. Paradigm Shifter

Paradigm Shifter de nihilo nihil fit