1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

News Canonical promises Ubuntu Edge-like convergent smartphone

Discussion in 'Article Discussion' started by Gareth Halfacree, 5 May 2015.

1. Gareth Halfacree

Gareth Halfacree WIIGII! Lover of bit-tech Administrator Super Moderator Moderator

2. theshadow2001

theshadow2001 [DELETE] means [DELETE]

Ugh. At this stage I'll believe it when I see it.

3. SexyHyde

SexyHyde Minimodder

Sorry Mark, I was excited two years ago, when I put money where your mouth was. The kickstarter would have been a great springboard to launch, even though it 'failed', it was record breaking and had huge media attention. Still got another 6 months before we might see it? Don't bother. I'm a linux using tech geek that has had his patience and excitement exhausted.

4. ZeDestructor

ZeDestructor Minimodder

Meanwhile, over in the cold lands of Finland, the Jolla tablet has been minorly delayed to July from it's expected launch in May, and along the ride, they've been pretty transparent on what's going on, repeatedly shown progress made on actual devices (as opposed to emulators). I'm pretty excited to receive mine, I must say...

5. Gareth Halfacree

Gareth Halfacree WIIGII! Lover of bit-tech Administrator Super Moderator Moderator

I've actually played with an Ubuntu phone: the entry-level Bq Aquaris E4.5 Ubuntu Edition. It doesn't have the convergence feature, but it's the same OS - and, speaking as someone who uses Ubuntu as his daily-driver operating system and has done for years, is damn-near unusable. Imagine taking an ancient Android build - say, 1.5 - and sticking a mash-up of Sailfish and webOS's user interfaces on top. Ta-da: you've got Ubuntu Touch. It's not without a certain charm, but I wouldn't give up Android for it just yet - and that's on a phone costing under £150. With this thing likely to fetch £500 or more? Not for me, ta. I'll try again in a year or two.