1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cooling Case Fans

Discussion in 'Tech Support' started by ad_no1, 12 May 2009.

1. ad_no1

ad_no1 New Member

2. Akava

Akava Lurking...

I'm no expert on the subject but to me it sounds like a faulty controller as surely it should be working on the basis that it lowers the voltage, which would force the fans to slow down.

3. ad_no1

ad_no1 New Member

Fan Controller

Hi

Thanks for the reply.

I e-mailed Scythe as well and the representative told me that I purchased the wrong fans.
    He explained that for the fan controller to control the speed of the fan they need to have a standard 3-pin fan connector for power and rpm signal.

So now I wondering if the Thermaltake Blue-Eye LED Case Fan will do the job.

http://www.thermaltakeusa.com/Product.aspx?C=1164&ID=1725

4. Paradigm Shifter

Paradigm Shifter de nihilo nihil fit

Specs say that those new fans you're looking at are 3-pin. So that would be a 'yes'. Unless Thermaltake do anything weird and wacky with their fans.

You might want to have a look and see if you can get some fans that have a start voltage lower than 6v... that Scythe controller varies from 3.7v-12v, so that's quite a bit of fan stall space on the variable resistor.

5. kgwagner

kgwagner New Member

You need fans with tach feedback, and those Thermaltake parts aren't being clear about how they're managing that, if at all.

For what you're spending on fans and a controller, you may want to consider just buying some decent fans to begin with. You may find you don't need a controller. Noctua makes some fans that are spooky quiet, as does Scythe and Papst.