1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Notebooks Charger not working properly?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by terrorbyt, 18 Nov 2012.

1. terrorbyt

terrorbyt MultiModder

Hey guys I recently bought a Novatech nFinity N1412 ultrabook and for some reason it takes ages for the charger to charge the laptop's battery up. It shouldn't really take more than 2.5 hours but it takes around 5 or 6 hours to fully charge from 0%.

I'm no expert, but I've come to the conclusion that either the charger is faulty OR it's just because it's new, and will improve with time.. I've tried different power sockets throughout the house but to no avail. The battery life is very good, and I have no issue with that - it just takes an age to charge it!

I have put Windows 8 Pro on the system if that makes any difference. My Intel SSD also has around 25GB missing from it which I've heard is due to hibernation and backup partitions. Any tips for properly setting up an SSD?

Thanks

2. lysaer

lysaer Suck my unit! Kirk lazarus (2008)

If you brought it new I would contact the manufacturer before trying anything else as you might void your warranty

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

3. terrorbyt

terrorbyt MultiModder

Yeah I will, apparently Novatech's customer service is very good :)

4. terrorbyt

terrorbyt MultiModder

Aside from this issue, I have discovered in Disk Management a 4GB Hibernation Partition and a 13GB WinRE partition. The entire SSD itself is only 111.79GB so these 2 partitions are knocking the final size down to 94GB and even then Windows 8 is using up a chunk of that!

I understand the Hibernation Partition is the same size as the System's RAM. I don't use hibernate though, as the ultrabook starts up in around 10 seconds anyway (from shutdown). Is there a reason I should keep it?

5. mm vr

mm vr The cheesecake is a lie