1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Advice Complete newbie taking the plunge building a gaming PC

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by mihajaru, 5 Aug 2010.

1. mihajaru

mihajaru What's a Dremel?

Hey there, Long Time Reader First Time Poster, I've been a laptop user all my life, been playing on average speeced laptops for nearly 10 years, so my knowledge with computers is pretty much average to above average. But... my knowledge with PC hardware is really really bad, i know what the components are, or how they look like or where they should be, but building a PC first hand is something i have not done before. I am a complete newbie with all of this..

I'm a PC gamer, I play WoW a lot and some FPS TF from time to time but mostly RTS ones, my girlfriend has an acer predator *yeh i know* and compared to my laptop, i have nothing.. due to this, i want to build my own pc, it doesnt need to be god like, just an above average quality one that can be upgraded if a component gets phased out or needs upgrading.
    Would love it to be as quiet as possible :)
    Budget: Between £650-£800

Main uses of intended build: Gaming **Playing WoW mostly, Starcraft 2, FPS games, MW2, TF, and FF XIV in the future.** Surfing the net, watching films. In other words, I play a lot on my PC.

Parts required: almost everything, OS, monitor, i think i can look for a keyboard myself.only thing i that i can use which i have is a mouse...

Previous build information (list details of parts):

Monitor resolution: Not sure about this, but my laptop has a 17 inch screen, im hoping for a
    22"+ if my budget can handle it, Im willing to pu sh it as long as i can get more than 22"

Storage requirements: not that much is needed, i have 500gb on my laptop and i've only used 200gb or something.