1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

custom distro plate suggestions/help needed

Discussion in 'Watercooling' started by monkey562, 10 Jun 2020.

1. monkey562

monkey562 What's a Dremel?

Hi all. Following bit-techs youtube tutorial on how to make a custom distro plate with Fusion 360 i finally finished my first approach creating my very first distro plate for my InWin 925 chassis.
    However since i have zero experience i'd like you guys to take a look and give me any advice/suggestion before i give the blueprint to the manufacturer.

So here is what bugs me:
    How much space between the screws should i consider to have a tight sealing?
    My goal is to avoid unnecessary screws.

PS: Dimensions: 140x320x41 (the reservoir is hidden within the crossed slots).

Thank you!

Attached Files:

2. Bloody_Pete

Bloody_Pete Technophile

So, you have to calculate the force applied to the seal along the distance between each screw and then make sure that that force is enough to meet the compression of the seal, Its a MASSIVE PITA to do, but not impossible. Personally I use flat gaskets rather than orings as you get a much larger area so you're much more likely to get a good seal without the horrible maths. You could just use glue or liquid sealant...

3. monkey562

Thanks for your reply, Bloody_Pete. I think calculating it with math would be an overkill. But yeah i know where it is comming from.
    I also thought about using flat gaskets, however i would run into space issues sealing the slots around the D5 pumps (impeller/outlet port). Well more or less.
    Now thinking about it. My slots for the o-rings are 2mm wide so i was about to use 2mm o-ring. It shouldnt be a big problem using 2.5mm o-rings instead to have some tighter seal.

4. Bloody_Pete

Bloody_Pete Technophile