1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Disaster dont call me an idiot but.....

Discussion in 'Modding' started by perkins teh modder, 16 Dec 2007.

1. perkins teh modder

perkins teh modder What's a Dremel?

i (stupidly!) was messin with 3mm leds while my pc was on, all of the sudden everying shut down with a noise i almost cried about :wallbash: :duh: (dying computer sound). so i caled a friend who is basically a computer god, unfortunately he wasnt there so i unpluged my power supply and plugged it back in and luckily it turned back on and for the first time in my life i was excited to see my bios screen!:clap:

so, i was wondering if that ever happened to any of you and if you knew what the sound was because even though i thought it died it hadnt and it is still perfoming perfectly

plz dont say im stupid (im a noob)

2. talladega

talladega I'm Squidward

youre stupid. :D lol

j/k

what kind of sound?

maybe something shorted out and the power supply turned off to prevent damage? that would be my guess. i would think there would be some sort of safety thing to prevent that.

3. perkins teh modder

it was kind of a popping sound, and one of my friends said to check the wires because they might have burned

4. Cinnander

Cinnander What's a Dremel?

Sounds like you shorted something not-at-0-volts against the case, which causes the PSU to shut off often with a click/pop/pzzt/clunk sound. Sometimes they have a latch so you need to physically remove the mains (which will reset it after a second or so, it'll make a faint 'fsht' noise) before they'll come alive again.
    Also it wont restart while the short is still in place.